Windmills of Your Mind กังหันห้องใจ หมุนเวียนเปลี่ยนไปดังกังหันต้องลม


Why do people collect things? How do they decide what to collect? How long do they stick with it?

I used to collect many things. When I was a child I collected stamps and coins. I guess it is because these two are the most basic things for children to start with. I stopped after a few years before my collections ever grew. Now I’m pondering upon it, it seems I stopped because stamps and coins were not my passion. Then I started a collection of flags. I was fascinated with the world’s different nations, so maybe I collected flags as a symbol to reflect my interest. When I was a teenager and became interested in fashion, I started to collect fashion houses’ bags and price tags. I admired the graphic designs of those fashion houses and found it hard to throw away their bags and tags. These collections lasted until last year, meaning I duly archived them for almost 30 years. And I had collections of matches and drink stirrers from bars and restaurants around the world, shells, nautical memorabilia, and probably more things that I don’t even remember now. I’m not sure why I collected them.

However, last year I became to realize the pain of possessions: that possession comes with the price tag of worries and baggage to maintain them. The more you possess, the less free you become. So, when I moved to a new house and realized I hardly looked at my collections, I decided to say goodbye to all of them. And I felt so light and free.

But without realizing, I found myself with a new collection. This time it is different. It’s a possession that doesn’t feel like a possession, because it is a collection of something less tangible. It is any cover versions of the song “Windmills of Your Mind” written by a French composer Michel Legrand. The song is over 40 years old and covered by many artists but probably the most famous version, and one of my two favorites, is sung by Sting for the movie Thomas Crown Affair starred by Pierce Brosnan and Rene Russo in 1999. I got to know the song from that movie. But this song was also originally written for the same movie in 1968. The movie itself is also one of my all-time favorites. It is super romantic, suspense, and entertains any woman’s fantasy about a hot guy who is handsome, smart, rich, sexy, romantic, and heroic bad boy. And I think the song represents the movie very well through both melody and lyric. I could not stop listening to it and began to search for more and more covers. I listened to and watch the original version sung by Noel Harrison, which won the Academy Award in 1968 for best Original Song, again and again. Before I realized, I ended up with so many versions and it is still growing.

A few years ago on a long-haul flight I saw in the entertainment menu the original Thomas Crown Affair starred by Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway. I always wanted to watch it so I didn’t waste a minute to start the movie. It is even more charming than the Brosnan version. McQueen is less sexy and has less of a bad-boy image than Brosnan in my opinion, but he seems more mysterious which adds incredible charm and suspense. Rene Russo is stunningly elegant and beautiful in the new version but Faye Dunaway is a real classic you just can’t forget her timeless beauty. (By the way she plays the role of Brosnan’s shrink in the remake.) The whole black-and-white version just takes my breath away.

A few weeks ago I came across the best clip of the song ever. The voice is by Alison Moyet, which is the other favorite cover of mine, singing over the trailer of original 1968 Thomas Crown Affair. Alison’s voice always moves me, especially the way she sings Windmills of Your Mind. The combination of this sound and visuals is the ultimate piece in my collection. It never fails to transport me to a mysterious world of love and romance, and fathom of human’s hearts.

We all keep changing our minds. We all live with an unexplainable mystery of our own hearts. We don’t have answers to many whys, especially when it comes to love and passion. I collect Windmills of Your Mind without a planned decision and without a reason. It just happened and it makes me happy. I hope this collection of mine lasts. But who knows….

“Like the circle that you find…. in the windmills of your mind…..”

อยู่ดีๆฉันก็เกิดสงสัยขึ้นมาว่า ทำไมคนเราถึงมี”ของสะสม”เป็นงานอดิเรกนะ แล้วเราเลือกอย่างไรว่าจะสะสมอะไร แล้วเราสะสมของเหล่านั้นนานแค่ไหน

ฉันเคยสะสมของสารพัดสิ่ง ตอนเด็กๆเริ่มจากสะสมแสตมป์กับเหรียญกษาปน์ตามสูตรเด็กทั่วๆไป แต่ไม่นานก็เลิก มานั่งคิดดูตอนนี้ฉันคิดว่าฉันหมดความสนใจเร็วเพราะไม่ได้มีความชอบหรือหลงใหลในเรื่องของแสตมป์และเหรียญ โตขึ้นมาหน่อยก็สะสมทุกอย่างที่เป็นลวดลายของธงชาตินานาชาติ คงเป็นเพราะฉันพบว่าตัวเองสนใจเกี่ยวกับประเทศชาติต่างๆในโลกจึงหันมาสะสมธงอันเป็นสัญลักษณ์ของประเทศ พอเป็นวัยรุ่นเริ่มสนใจเรื่องแฟชั่นก็มาสะสมถุงใส่เสื้อผ้าและป้ายราคาจากร้านเสื้อผ้าแฟชั่นต่างๆ พวกร้านแฟชั่นมักจะมีถุงและป้ายดีไซน์สวยๆสร้างสรรค์แปลกๆซึ่งฉันตัดใจทิ้งไม่ลง ฉันเก็บสะสมถุงและป้ายราคานี้มาเป็นเวลาถึงเกือบ 30 ปีจนปีที่แล้ว นอกจากนี้ฉันยังสะสมไม้ขีดไฟ ไม้คนเหล้า เปลือกหอย ของที่ระลึกพวกเรือและทะเล และอะไรอีกหลายอย่างที่ตอนนี้ก็จำไม่ได้แล้วว่ามีอะไรบ้าง มานึกดูก็ไม่รู้เหมือนกันว่าทำไมฉํนถึงสะสมของเหล่านั้น

ปีที่แล้วฉันได้เกิดปัญญาตาสว่างขึ้นมาเรื่องหนึ่ง ว่าการครอบครองนั้นเป็นทุกข์ ต้องมานั่งดูแลเป็นห่วงสมบัติ ยิ่งมีมากก็ยิ่งกังวลมากไร้อิสรภาพทางใจ พอตอนที่เก็บของย้ายบ้าน เห็นว่าจริงๆแล้วฉันไม่ได้ชื่นชมของสะสมทั้งหลายเหล่านั้นมาแสนนาน ก็เลยตัดใจทิ้งไปทั้งหมด รู้สึกเบาสบายเสรีเป็นที่สุด

แต่อยู่ๆไม่รู้ตัวฉันก็มีของสะสมใหม่งอกขึ้นมาหนึ่งอย่าง แต่หนนี้ต่างไปจากเดิมและไม่รู้สึกเป็นภาระในการครอบครองมากเพราะเป็นของที่จะว่าไปแล้วก็จับต้องไม่ได้ คือฉันสะสมเพลง “Windmills of Your Mind” ในเวอร์ชั่นต่างๆ เพลงนี้แต่งโดย Michel Legrand ชาวฝรั่งเศสมานานกว่า 40 ปีแล้วและถูกนำมาร้องและบรรเลงโดยศิลปินมากมาย แต่เวอร์ชั่นที่น่าจะเป็นที่รู้จักมากที่สุดสมัยนี้ ซึ่งเป็นหนึ่งในเวอร์ชั่นโปรดของฉันคือที่ร้องโดยสติงเพื่อประกอบภาพยนตร์เรื่อง Thomas Crown Affair แสดงโดย Pierce Brosnan และ Rene Russo ในปี 1999 ฉันรู้จักเพลงนี้ก็จากหนังเรื่องนั้นนั่นแหละ ซึ่งที่จริงแล้วเพลงนี้ก็ถูกเขียนเพื่อใช้ประกอบภาพยนตร์โธมัสคราวน์ดั้งเดิมในปี 1968 นั่นเอง และหนังเรื่องนี้ก็เป็นเรื่องโปรดของฉันด้วยเช่นกัน เป็นหนังที่เต็มไปด้วยความโรแมนติก ลึกลับชวนค้นหา และกระตุ้นต่อมเพ้อฝันจินตนาการของหญิงสาวหลายๆคนเกี่ยวกับชายในฝันที่ทั้งหล่อ รวย ฉลาด เซ็กซี่ แต่เป็นพระเอกแบบแบดบอย ฉันว่าเพลงวินด์มิลล์นี้สะท้อนอารมณ์ของหนังเรื่องนี้ได้เป็นอย่างดีทั้งในเนื้อร้องและทำนอง ยิ่งฟังยิ่งหลงหยุดไม่ได้จนฉันต้องไปเสาะหาสารพัดเวอร์ชั่นมาฟัง ศิลปินแต่ละคนก็ตีความต่างกันไปแต่ทุกคนมีความน่าสนใจทั้งนั้น ส่วนเวอร์ชั่นดั้งเดิมที่ร้องโดยศิลปินชาวอังกฤษ Noel Harrison และได้รางวัลอคาเดมี่อวอร์ดในปี 1968 ในฐานะ Best Original Song นั้นฉันฟังแล้วฟังเล่าไม่รู้เบื่อ ตอนนี้ฉันมีหลายเวอร์ชั่นมากมายและยังสะสมต่อไปเรื่อยๆ

ไม่กี่ปีก่อนตอนบินยาวครั้งหนึ่งฉันบังเอิญเห็นมีภาพยนตร์เรื่องนี้ภาคดั้งเดิมในรายการหนังให้เลือก แสดงโดยสตีฟ แมคควีนและเฟย์ ดันนาเวย์ ฉันไม่รอช้ารีบเปิดดูเลยเพราะอยากดูมานาน หนังเก่าออกขาวดำดูแล้วได้อารมณ์ยิ่งกว่าภาคใหม่ จริงๆฉันว่าสตีฟ แมคควีนเซ็กซี่และดูเป็นแบดบอยน้อยกว่าเพียร์ส บรอสแนน แต่ความนิ่งลึกของเขากลับเพิ่มความลึกลับเย้ายวนให้กับหนัง ตอนที่ดูภาคใหม่ฉันก็ว่าเรเน่ รุสโซ่สวยโก้บาดใจแล้ว แต่เห็นป้าเฟย์แล้วต้องยกนิ้วว่าสวยคลาสสิกอมตะลืมไม่ลงจริงๆ (ป้ามาเล่นในภาคใหม่ด้วยเป็นจิตแพทย์ของพระเอกเพียร์ส) ภาคดั้งเดิมนี้ดูแล้วแทบกลั้นหายใจไปทั้งเรื่อง

และไม่กี่สัปดาห์ก่อนฉันบังเอิญมาสะดุดเจอคลิปมิวสิควิดิโออันหนึ่งของเพลงนี้ที่เยี่ยมที่สุดที่เคยเจอมา เพลงขับร้องโดย Alison Moyet ซึ่งเป็นอีกเวอร์ชั่นที่ฉันชอบที่สุด เอามาประกอบกับภาพตัดต่อของภาพยนตร์โธมัสภาคดั้งเดิม เสียงเจ๊อลิสันนั้น”โดน”ฉันเป็นประจำอยู่แล้วโดยเฉพาะที่เธอร้องวินด์มิลล์นั้นสุดจะบรรยาย พอเอามารวมกับภาพย้อมขาวดำของหนังภาคแรกเลยลงตัวโดนกระแทกอย่างแรงที่สุด เป็นอันดับหนึ่งในคอลเล็กชั่นของฉันไปแล้ว ดูและฟังทีไรลอยไปในฝันของโลกแห่งความรักความสเน่หาและปริศนาสุดเบื้องลึกของใจคนทุกที

คนเราเปลี่ยนใจกันอยู่ตลอดเวลา จริงๆแล้วมีหลายเรื่องที่เราไม่สามารถไขความลับอธิบายหาเหตุผลจากก้นบึ้งส่วนลีกในใจของเราเองได้ โดยเฉพาะในเรื่องความรักและเสน่หา ฉันบังเอิญมาสะสมเพลงกังหันห้องใจนี้อย่างไม่เจตนา แต่เกิดจากความถูกใจใหลหลงล้วนๆ หวังว่าฉันจะไม่เบื่อเลิกสะสมเพลงนี้เร็วจนเกินไป และค้นหาเสน่ห์ของมันได้เรื่อยๆ แต่ใครล่ะจะรู้อนาคตได้….

“ กังหันห้องใจ หมุนเวียนเปลี่ยนไปดังกังหันต้องลม Like the circle that you find…. in the windmills of your mind…..”

Leave a Reply

